• Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times
30may2011mm090Dharamshala: - 42 newly elected members of the 15th Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile were sworn in at a ceremony held at the Parliament House today Monday, 30th May. The total strength of the parliament stands at 44. Mr. Pempa Tsering has been re-elected to the post of speaker winning with a margin of 24 votes out of the 42 MPs that were present.

Ven. Sonam Tenphel was elected Deputy Speaker, winning with a margin of 20 votes out of the 42 MPs that were present, the first Buddhist monk ever to serve in this position.

The election commission of the Central Tibetan Administration will later hold polls for the election of 2 MPs from U-Tsang Province (Central Tibet) as 2 candidates in question could not secure the mandatory 33 percent of the total votes cast during the final poll that was held on 20 March.

Prior to the swearing in ceremony of the MPs, the interim speaker took oath from the chief justice commissioner of the Central Tibetan Administration.

Dr. Lobsang Sangay, newly elected leader of the Tibetan Administration also attended the swearing-in ceremony.

The Tibetan Parliament-in-exile, based in Dharamsala, which also serves as the seat of the Tibetan Government-in-exile, is the highest legislative organ of the exile polity. The members are directly elected by Tibetan exiles above the age of 18 from their respective constituencies around the world.

Cheap & Effective Advertising
E-mail: editor@thetibetpost.com