• Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times
16september2011dhasaDharamshala:- The elected political leader of the Tibetan Administration, Dr. Lobsang Sangay nominated six people today to be appointed ministers in his cabinet of the Tibetan administration, mostly former parliamentarians and ministers. Two women were included on the list, with the members of the 15th Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile unanimously endorsed all nominations of the new Kalons or ministers.

The Kalon Tripa Dr. Lobsang Sangay on Friday, 16th September introduced the nominations of six new Kalons or ministers of the cabinet of the Central Tibetan Administration (Kashag)- during the first day of the inaugural session of the 15th Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile. The six nominees were found to be in compliance with the requirements stipulated in Article 21 of the Charter of the Tibetans in Exile.

The elected ministers contained experienced as well as younger members. The six new Kalons are Mr Ngoedup Dongchung, former Kalon of Department of Security, Mr. Tsering Dhondup, former Kalon of Department of finance and Mr Pema Chhinjor, former MP and former Kalon for Department of Security, Ms. Dolma Gyari, former deputy speaker of Tibetan Parliament in-exile, Ms. Dekyi Chhoeyang, Member of Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile from North America, and Mr. Tsering Wangchuk, a senior medical officer at Tsojhe Khangsar Charity Hospital, Bylakuppe, South India.

The elected ministers of the 14th Kashag will be administered the oath of office and secrecy this afternoon  by the chief Justice Commissioner Mr Ngawang Phelgyal at a ceremony at the Tibetan Supreme Justice Commission of the Central Tibetan Administration. The Charter for Tibetans-in-Exile stipulates the Kashag should have maximum of eight Kalons, including the Kalon Tripa.

The Kalon Tripa, who is also knowns as the Chairman of the Kashag, will announce the portfolios of the new ministers at a Press Conference to be held on Monday, 19th September, at 12:30PM.

The second session of the 15th Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile will continue until 1st October.

Cheap & Effective Advertising
E-mail: editor@thetibetpost.com