• Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Kargyu-DhondupDharamshala: - Kargyu Dhondup, the Auditor General of the Central Tibetan Administration (CTA), was on Saturday appointed as the 5th Chief Justice Commissioner of the Tibetan Supreme Justice Commission. He will take charge in next month.

'Kargyu Dhondup got 19 votes against 14 for Pema Jungney, a serving member of the Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile, in a voting held during Saturday's parliamentary session,' according to a report by information department of CTA.

Their nominations were proposed by a 3-member selection committee of former Chief Justice Commissioner Lobsang Dhargyal, Kasur Kirti Rinpoche and Kasur Rinchen Khando, which was constituted by a committee of Chief Justice Commissioner, Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Tibetan Parliament and Sikyong.

Kargyu Dhondup was born in Rongjung, Ngari in 1957. He joined the Central Tibetan Administration in 1980 as a Junior clerk in the Office of the Auditor General. From 1981 to 1984, he took three years study leave to pursue Articleship /Audit training at K.V Hariharan & Co. Chartered Accountants in Bangalore.

He re-joined the Office of the Auditor General in 1984 and continued his services on the posts of Senior Clerk, Deputy Secretary, Joint Secretary, Additional Secretary. He was promoted to the post of Secretary of the Office of the Auditor General in 1993.

From 2001-2002, he took one year study leave to pursue further studies at the Rochester Institute of Technology in US on Fulbright scholarship. In 2004, he was appointed as the Auditor General of the Central Tibetan Administration.

With the development of democracy in Tibetan polity, the Justice Commission was set up on March 11, 1992. Since then, the Justice Commission has functioned as a legal protector of the Tibetan masses and has established branch offices in all the Tibetan settlements including India, Nepal and Switzerland.

The Tibetan Supreme Justice Commission is the highest judicial organ and one of the three most important pillars of the Tibetan democratic administration in exile.

The Commission is composed of the Chief Justice Commissioner and two other Justice Commissioners.  They are appointed by the Tibetan Parliament in exile through election out of nominated candidates submitted by the Selection Committee, which is constituted by a Committee of Chief Justice Commissioner, Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Tibetan Parliament in exile and Sikyong of Cabinet. 

Cheap & Effective Advertising
E-mail: editor@thetibetpost.com