• Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Dharamshala: - Three Nobel Peace laureates will attend a programme in Dharamshala next month to mark the silver jubilee of the conferment of the Nobel Prize on the spiritual leader of Tibet His Holiness the Dalai Lama.

Nobel-Laureates-HH-Dalai-LamaDharamshala: - Three Nobel Peace laureates will attend a programme in Dharamshala next month to mark the silver jubilee of the conferment of the Nobel Prize on the spiritual leader of Tibet His Holiness the Dalai Lama.

The special programme, being organised by the Central Tibetan Administration (CTA) based Dharamshala, India on October 2, will be attended by Nobel Peace laureates Jody Williams, Shirin Ebadi, and Leymah Gbowee.

A statement from the Department of Information and International Relations said the event is occasioned on the birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi, himself a proponent of peace and non-violence.

"The gathering of Nobel Laureates from different parts of the world in Dharamshala on this occasion symbolizes their support and appreciation for His Holiness the Dalai Lama's tireless efforts towards his three main commitments: the promotion of human values, inter-religious harmony and the preservation of Tibetan culture," the statement said.

The felicitation program is historically significant as 2014 is also being celebrated as the 'Year of His Holiness the Great 14th Dalai Lama' by the Tibetan people and His Holiness' well-wishers all over the world.

Earlier in May this year, the Nobel Institute in Norway invited His Holiness the Dalai Lama to mark the 25th anniversary of his being awarded the Nobel Peace Prize. Chairman of the Nobel Committee Thorbjørn Jagland said His Holiness the Dalai Lama was awarded the prize in recognition of his efforts to bring freedom to the Tibetan people through non-violence and his concern for the natural environment.

"You are a man of peace, a religious leader worth listening to and someone worth speaking to," Mr Jagland said.

His Holiness the Dalai Lama during his visit to the Nobel Institute May 8 said he was in California when he heard the announcement.

Asked about how he felt hearing the news, he said: "I said...not much different. I am a simple Buddhist monk, no more, no less. But since the prize was in recognition of my commitment to non-violence and my work for peace, I felt it was a great honor."

"Later, when Aung San Suu Kyi and Liu Xiaobo were awarded the Peace prize and they were in difficult circumstances, I felt it would have been a source of encouragement and inspiration for them."

The Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, who has spoken in favor of "Genuine Autonomy" for Tibet from China rather than complete independence, described conferment of the Nobel Peace Prize on him as a blessing for him.

"Of course, as a blessing. I remember Archbishop Desmond Tutu, my friend and spiritual brother, telling me how difficult it was for him to meet some people before, which became much easier after he was awarded the prize," he said in Oslo.

Ms Jody Williams is the founding coordinator of the International Campaign to Ban Landmines (ICBL), which was formally launched by six NGOs in October 1992. She was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1997 jointly with International Campaign to Ban Landmines (ICBL) "for their work towards banning and clearing of anti-personnel mines".

Ms Shirin Ebadi was Iran's first female judge. After Khomeini's revolution in 1979 she was dismissed. Ebadi opened a legal practice and began defending people who were being persecuted by the authorities. In the year 2000 she was imprisoned herself for having criticized her country's hierocracy.

Ebadi took up the struggle for fundamental human rights and especially the rights of women and children. The Nobel Peace Prize 2003 was awarded to her "for her efforts for democracy and human rights. She has focused especially on the struggle for the rights of women and children".

Ms Leymah Gbowee is a Liberian peace activist, social worker and women's rights advocate. She is Founder and President of the Gbowee Peace Foundation Africa, based in Monrovia. Leymah is best known for leading a nonviolent movement that brought together Christian and Muslim women to play a pivotal role in ending Liberia's devastating, 14-year civil war in 2003.

The Nobel Peace Prize 2011 was awarded jointly to Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkol Karman "for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women's rights to full participation in peace-building work".

Cheap & Effective Advertising
E-mail: editor@thetibetpost.com