• Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times
Dharamshala: The Tibetan Women's Association (TWA) today released the results of the July 6 Kalon Tripa (Tibetan Prime Minister) Mock Election.

In a press statement, the TWA was keen to emphasise that the mock election's aim was to encourage and increase participation of the Tibetan electorate in the the real preliminary elections which were held in October, and next year's general election, and that it did not want the mock election results to sway voters in any way.

Of the 9,870 votes cast by registered voters in the mock election, 1,931 were disqualified, due to candidates either voting for themselves or for Professor Samdhong Rinpoche, the present Kalon Tripa, who will be required to step down at the end of his present term.
173 candidates representing 37 Tibetan provinces stood in the mock election. Below we publish the top ten:

1) Tenzin Namgyal Tethong (U-Tsang Province) - 2,174 votes.

2) Lobsang sangay (Dotoe province)-2000

3) Jesun pema (Domey province)-726

4) Gyari Dolma (Dotoe province)-470

5) Penpa tsering (Domey province)-232

6) Gyari Lodoe (Dotoe Privince)-231

7) Lobsang Jinpa (Dotoe province)-198

8) Lobsang Nyendak (Dotoe province)-152

9) Pema Jungney 143

10) Thupten Lungrik (Domey province)-136

Cheap & Effective Advertising
E-mail: editor@thetibetpost.com