Wangdu Tsering, Chief Election Commissioner of the Central Tibetan Administration announcing the result of final election. Photo: screenshot

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Dharamshala, India — The Central Tibetan Administration's Election Commission has announced final election results on Friday and declared that Penpa Tsering, former Speaker of the Tibetan Parliament, won the final election, against opponent Kalsang Dorjee, former Chief Resilience Officer (CRO) of the Central Tibetan Administration.

The final election results were announced by Wangdu Tsering, Chief Election Commissioner of the Central Tibetan Administration along with additional commissioners, Geshema Delek Wangmo and Sonam Gyaltsen on May 14, 2021. The press conference was held through Tibettv online as per covid 19 curfew in Kangra, India.

The Election commission declared the result of the final election of Sikyong or political leader of Central Tibetan Administration(CTA) and Members of the 17th Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile (TPiE), showing that Penpa Tsering, got 34324 votes, and Kalsang Kardo got 28097 votes.

Wangdu Tsering officially declared Sikyong nominee Penpa Tsering as the new elected Sikyong of the Central Tibetan Administration, securing 34,324 votes, in accordance with Tibetan electoral rules and regulations.

"A total of 83,080 Tibetans registered for the final election. However, only 63,991 people turned up to vote in the final election. Out of the total 63,991 actual voters in the final election, 604 votes were disqualified for the Sikyong final election. A total of 45 members are elected for the 17th Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile," Wangdu Tsering said.

"Above all, I'd like to take this opportunity to express our deepest respect and gratitude to His Holiness the Dalai Lama for the gift of democracy. As elected leaders and representatives of the Tibetan people, I urge the new Sikyong and members of parliament to serve in accordance with guidance and counsel of His Holiness the Dalai Lama, with the aspiration of six million Tibetans, Tibetan struggle and unity at the heart of their service,” said Chief Election Commissioner.

The 45-member Tibetan Parliament is composed of 10 members each from the three traditional provinces of Tibet; two each from the five religious constituencies, two each from the Tibetan communities in North America and Europe, and one from the Tibetan community in Australasia (excluding India, Nepal, and Bhutan).

This is the third time that exiled Tibetans are directly elect the Sikyong of the CTA after His Holiness the Dalai Lama devolved his political authority in 2011.

The official results of new elected members of the 17th Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile (TPiE) are as follows:

From U-Tsang, Dolma Tsering got 14,748 votes, Dawa Phunkyi got 14,402 votes, Migyur Dorjee got 10,867 votes, Ngodup Dorjee got10,7708 votes, Lobsang Gyatso Sithar got 10,486 votes, Tsering Yangchen got 10,395 votes, Dhondup Tashi got 10,108votes, Rinzin Lhundup got 10,011 votes, Lhagyari Namgyal Dolkar got 8,047 votes, Dawa Tsering got 7,793votes.

From Dotoe or Kham, Dorjee Tsetan got 8,842 votes, Aukatsang Youdon got 8180 votes, Juchen Kunchok Choedon got 6186 votes), Tenzin Jigdal got 6032votes, Serta Tsultrim got 5748 votes, Choephel Thupten got 5719 votes, Tsering Dolma got 5744 votes, Gyaldhing Phurbu Dorjee got 4952 votes, Kunchok Yarphel got 4704 votes, Wangdue Dorjee got 4593 votes.

From Domey or Amdo, Pema Tso got 1,717 votes, Dhondup Tashi got1,451 votes, Tsering Lhamo got 1,439 votes, Tashi Dhondup got 1,296 votes, Ratsa Sonam Norbu got 1,214 votes, Karma Gelek got 1,211 votes, Yeshi Dolma got 1,194 votes, Lobsang Thupten got 1091 votes, Geshe Gangri got 1,082 votes, Choedak Gyatso got 1017votes.

From Nyingma, Khenpo Sonam Tenphel got 637 votes, and Khenpo Jamphel Tenzin got 505 votes.

From Kagyu, Kunga Sotop got 364 votes, and Tenpa Yarphel got 316 votes.

From Sakya, Lophon Thupten Gyaltsen got 276 votes, and Khenpo khatak Ngodup Sonam got 224 votes.

From Gelug, Gowo Lobsang Phendey got 3726 votes, and Atuk Tsetan got 3369 votes.

From Bon, Geshe Adhong Rinzin Gyaltsen got 119 votes, and Geshe Monlam Tharchin got 118 votes.

From North America, Tenzin Jigme got 6,152 votes, and Dhondup Tsering got 5,419 votes.

From Europe, Thupten Wangchen got 4,944 votes, and Thupten Gyatso got 2,884votes.

From Australasia, Doring Tenzin Phuntsok got 739 votes.